Percy Jackson and the Battle of the Labyrinth Review


Hey guys,

So today I’m going to be reviewing the 4th book in the Percy Jackson series. This book took me quite a while to finish as I just went through exam season so that is why this review is so late. Let’s get on with it 🙂

Book Title: Percy Jackson and the Battle of the Labyrinth2120932

Author: Rick Riordan

Date: Published: April 1st 2006

Publisher: Disney Hyperion

Overall Rating:

4.0 star

Blurb: Percy Jackson isn’t expecting freshman orientation to be any fun. But when a mysterious mortal acquaintance appears on campus, followed by demon cheerleaders, things quickly move from bad to worse. In this fourth installment of the blockbuster series, time is running out as war between the Olympians and the evil Titan lord Kronos draws near. Even the safe haven of Camp Half-Blood grows more vulnerable by the minute as Kronos’s army prepares to invade its once impenetrable borders. To stop the invasion, Percy and his demigod friends must set out on a quest through the Labyrinth – a sprawling underground world with stunning surprises at every turn.

My Review: This book is the fourth book in the Percy Jackson Olympians series. In this, we see the rise of the Titan army and is also sets the scene and builds up tension for the final book which I am now currently reading. I did like the overall plot line of the story. I found it very easy to follow and it made for a calming read. I am also enjoying watching character development throughout this series. For example, Percy has become more confident within his own abilities and Annabeth has also become more opinionated about each decision that she or her team make. I think that I’ve found Nico’s development within this story to be really enjoyable to read. *SPOILERS START* I loved how in this book, Nico finally came to terms with the death of his sister and how he accepted that it wasn’t Percy’s fault. He kind of came into his own in this story as he accepted who his father was and that he couldn’t change it but he could embrace it and use the powers for good. *SPOILERS END* I think that the one thing that I didn’t like was that I didn’t find this book particularly compelling. I found it rather difficult to continue reading this novel as I didn’t find it very gripping. I think that if the last two books are anything to go by, I will have to force myself through the next book however it will be a good read and hopefully come to some very useful conclusions. Overall, I did enjoy this book, however I think it was perfectly designed for younger readers as it allowed them to stop at any place without having a cliffhanger over them and distracting them from their next activity. I would recommend this to anyone who liked the Harry Potter series and is looking for something similar yet different at the same time.

Thanks for reading and I’ll post again soon! ~Spike

Leave a Reply

