Percy Jackson and the Sea of Monsters Review


Hey Guys, percy-jackson-and-the-sea-of-monsters

So today I will be reviewing the second book in the Percy Jackson series and my Book with Non-Human characters for the 2015 reading challenge. I finished this book on the bus yesterday so couldn’t wait to get the review up for you. Before you read this book, please note that I watched the movie before reading the book. *gasp* how could I?! Well, it was out in the cinema and I saw the first one and thought, why not. Apologies in advance but lets get on with the review!

Book Title: Percy Jackson and the Sea of Monsters
Author: Rick Riordan
Date Published: April 1st 2006
Publisher: Disney Hyperion
Overall Rating:

5.0 star

Blurb:

The heroic son of Poseidon makes an action-packed comeback in the second must-read installment of Rick Riordan’s amazing young readers series. Starring Percy Jackson, a “half blood” whose mother is human and whose father is the God of the Sea, Riordan’s series combines cliffhanger adventure and Greek mythology lessons that results in true page-turners that get better with each installment. In this episode, The Sea of Monsters, Percy sets out to retrieve the Golden Fleece before his summer camp is destroyed, surpassing the first book’s drama and setting the stage for more thrills to come.

My Review:

In this book, we join Percy as Camp Half-Blood has become invaded with monsters… again. This time, the magical shield of Thalia’s tree has been broken as the tree has been poisoned. Grover has been sent off in a search for Pan but uses an empathy connection to tell Percy that he is in danger. Clarisse is chosen to go on a quest to search for the Golden Fleece when Percy and his gang go along as well. I think that is the basic plot line of the story.

There are a lot of things I like about the book. For one thing, I like the detail and the funny comparisons made throughout the novel. Definitely had me laughing for a while! I also liked the character development. For example, Annabeth becomes so much more open to Percy during this book and you start to see the person she is underneath rather than the person she wants to be seen as. Percy also has some development as he grows up a lot. He becomes generous and understanding towards the end of the books. However you can see that there is a lot more development to come.

There isn’t much that I didn’t like about the book. I felt that the timing was just right and there was enough detail for you to imagine the scene, but not to much that it becomes boring.

I loved this book and I would recommend it to anyone who has read the first one and it is suitable for all ages. I hope you enjoy reading it!

Thanks for reading and I’ll write again next week!

Spike

Leave a Reply

