Fangirls, Fanboys and Fandoms


Hey Guys,

I realize it has been a while since I have done a casual blog post so today, I shall be talking about the great and rapidly growing internet community known as fandoms. Let’s begin!

*     *     *

Okay so to start, I have been a member of this community for about three to four years. For me, it was all about the books. I had just got into finding and creating edits based on books and from there it escalated. In my personal opinion, the fandom community began with the music industry. My pure reason for this thought is the main fact that music and bands have been classified as ‘cool’ for a lot longer than other types of media and entertainment such as books or TV shows. I love the whole idea of fandoms. A group of people who all love the same thing get together in any form of way and share ideas of what could happen or what has happened in this particular book/television show/movie etc. When something new is happening in one fandom, everyone is excited about it even if they don’t follow it originally.

So onto my next point. What are fangirls? A fangirl is a girl (obviously) who is a major fan of something. It is kind of self-explanatory in the name. I myself am a fangirl. These are the most common in the fandom community. To all fanboys reading this, I am not saying that your kind don’t exist, just that there are very few of you. Now back to the point. Fangirls and fanboys are generict terms for people who are in any fandom. They can be found in any form. For example, I have a lot of close friends who are in fandoms across different media as well as different fandoms. Most of them are gamers so they are in those fandoms and then two of my other close friends are fans of bands such as Fall Out Boy (I agree there!!!) and My Chemical Romance. Most of us are into books as well and there is also TV shows. Some of my friends are into this anime called Fairytale? Let me know what it’s like if you’ve seen it because they really love it!

One of the things that I love about fandoms is how we are all there for each other. I myself have never had this experience but just from being part of the fandom community, more on Instagram than anything else, I can see how supportive everyone is of others. Even if the person doesn’t feel happy, just reading some of the comments just boosts your spirits. I don’t know if this is the same in your opinion but I also found that most people in fandoms are anonymous. For example on my blog, I go by the name of Spike and on my fandom instagram, I’m fxngirl4life. I think it’s nice because we can all express our love for something without risking anything.

Basically all I’m trying to say is that fandoms are amazing! They are found all over everywhere in the internet world! Popular places are Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, Facebook and so on. They can involve anyone in any part of the world. An example of this is that I was once watching a Vlogbrothers video and John Green was saying how he found a really pretty poster on Tumblr about The Fault In Our Stars. He tried to find who created it so he asked the user who posted it but they only found it online. After summoning the Nerdfighters, he found the person who made it… but they only made the background. Back to the Nerdfighters and they finally found who made it into the poster. The amazing this here isn’t that a community of people all found these amazing artists without much to go on (though that is pretty cool) but that these three people are all over the place. There was one in Australia, another in Europe and another in America! The power of these groups is so incredible that even if you aren’t part of them, you can’t deny how beautiful they are. I have experience in this as my friend is a MEGA Harry Potter fan. I was so overwhelmed by everything that she showed me in the world of fandoms that I wanted to join. To start with, it was all Harry Potter until I read The Mortal Instruments series and them I was off! I am now part of fandoms such as The Hunger Games, Divergent, The Fault In Our Stars, The Mortal Instruments, Pretty Little Liars (I’m new to this one but I love it sooooo much!!!) and Harry Potter.

Fandoms are amazing and I would love to hear what fandoms (if any) you guys are in 🙂

Thanks for reading and I’ll write again soon!!!
Spike

Leave a Reply

