Twelfth Night Review


Hello good people of the internet and welcome back to a Review Sunday!

So this week I will be reviewing the second completely book in the PopSugar reading challenge 2015. This for me was a play and I chose to read Twelfth Night which was cheating in a way because I am reading it al school so it didn’t take much time. Just a warning before I get into this review, I have never reviewed a play and my rating system is going to be slightly biased because I am not normally a fan of Shakespeare and I find it very difficult to understand so… with that in mind, let’s get on with the review!

Book Title: Twelfth Night
Author: William Shakespeare
Date Published: 1601
Publisher: N/A
Overall Rating:

4.0 star

Blurb:

Set in a topsy-turvy world like a holiday revel, this comedy devises a romantic plot around separated twins, misplaced passions, and mistaken identity. Juxtaposed to it is the satirical story of a self-deluded steward who dreams of becoming “Count Malvolio” only to receive his comeuppance at the hands of the merrymakers he wishes to suppress. The two plots combine to create a farce touched with melancholy, mixed throughout with seductively beautiful explorations on the themes of love and time, and the play ends, not with laughter, but with a clown’s sad song.

My Review:

So this play is about a set of twins who got separated in a shipwreck and ended up in different parts of the world. Viola ended up in Illeria with Duke Orsino and Countess Olivia who had just lost her brother in a tragic accident and has been left with a large inheritance. In order to blend in and get a job and continue life, Viola decided to go ‘under cover’ as a man. This is where the store starts.

Ok so where to start, let’s start with Olivia. She is a very lonely lady who wants nothing more than to get over the death of her brother. But when she is landed with a large sum of money and remains single, she is constantly being hit on my the Duke Orsino. This means that she is constantly worried about people only wanting to date or marry her for her money. This leaves a clear opening in the plot for her. Viola is also a new character as she has lost her brother in a shipwreck and ended up with a lot more psychiatric problems then she originally thought.

I don’t really know how to write a review on a play because I haven’t done one like it before. Powering on though! Some of the things that I liked about this play was the unique characters. They all added a special role to the play and they all made it more and more funny. I think that if I were to see it on stage, it would be unbelievably funny and completely capture the audience. However in saying that, there are some things that I didn’t fully understand every word that they were talking about. I suppose some could argue that that is the beauty of Shakespeare but in my personal opinion, I found it confusing even though I was able to follow the whole plot. I think that is also another example as to how it is better to see in the theatre.

To conclude, I did enjoy this play but it would be better to see a live performance. I would recommend it to anyone who loves to read plays and Shakespeare because it was a classic Shakespearian story.

Thanks for reading and I’ll talk to you all soon!

Spike

Leave a Reply

