Requiem ~ Book Review


Hey Guys,requiem

So today is Sunday and I will be reviewing the first book that I read for the PopSugar 2015 Reading Challenge. And as you can probably tell from the cover, that book was Requiem by Lauren Oliver. Let’s get on with the review!

Book Title: Requiem
Author: Lauren Oliver
Date Published: March 5th 2013
Publisher: HarperCollins Children’s Books
Overall Rating:

3.0 star

Blurb:

Now an active member of the resistance, Lena has transformed. The nascent rebellion that was underway in Pandemonium has ignited into an all-out revolution in Requiem, and Lena is at the center of the fight. After rescuing Julian from a death sentence, Lena and her friends fled to the Wilds. But the Wilds are no longer a safe haven. Pockets of rebellion have opened throughout the country, and the government cannot deny the existence of Invalids. Regulators infiltrate the borderlands to stamp out the rebels.

As Lena navigates the increasingly dangerous terrain of the Wilds, her best friend, Hana, lives a safe, loveless life in Portland as the fiancée of the young mayor. Requiem is told from both Lena and Hana’s points of view. They live side by side in a world that divides them until, at last, their stories converge.

My Review:

This is a fitting conclusion to an alright series. To start with, I did really enjoy the first couple books and I was looking forward to reading this one as Pandemonium ended in a cliff-hanger. I have to say that it wasn’t bad but there were some parts of the novel that I didn’t like. This novel continued Lena’s story with the resistance but it also added in Hana’s point of view. I think that this was a good idea as it gave us an insight into the mind of a ‘cured’ but it also didn’t seem to work for me. Don’t get me wrong, I liked the book and how it was writing but for me you couldn’t really tell the difference between Hana and Lena. This made it very hard when telling the difference between characters and scenarios.

Onto good points of this story, I think that it followed smoothly from Pandemonium which allowed readers to fully understand what was happening. I also liked the romance within the story. I think that there possibly could’ve been a bit more of an explanation about Lena and Alex because at many times I was confused at where they stood in their relationship together. I also liked Julian and how he adapted to the Wilds.

Bad points now and I think that Julian was almost unrealistic as he stuck to Lena while she pushed him away. *SPOILERS* At the end where they broke down the wall around Portland, I didn’t really know what happened to the characters. Lena had found Gracie and Hana had escaped with no harm done to her  and we knew Alex and Lena get together again but seeing as it was the end of the novel, I don’t really know where the characters stood. Lena left Julian and never explained what happened and the last we see of Hana, she walks off into the sunset. None of these endings for the characters complete the story. To add to that, they have only partially damaged the government in Portland which probably doesn’t even cause a blip on the overall scheme of things. In my opinion, I think that there should’ve been an epilogue set a couple of years in the future which tells the reader exactly what happened to the characters and the resistance. That way we can be told what happens to all the characters and what their futures are. *SPOILERS END*

To conclude this unusually long review, I would recommend this book to anyone who loves dystopian novels but more importantly, anyone who has read the first two because you might as well finish it.

Thanks thanks for reading and I’ll see you guys next week!

Spike

Leave a Reply

