NaNoWriMo and Anniversary


Hey Guys!
So as you know, I participated in NaNoWriMo this year. If you have read the comments on my last post, you will know that I extended my own personal goal to three months because I have been really busy with exams and school etc. If you want to however, here is a little snippet of what I have written (beware that this is a first draft so I haven’t edited it yet):
It was on my fourteenth birthday that I got my first high quality camera. I guess you could say that that was what started it all. It led me to the three hundred thousand subscribers on my channel and over four hundred thousand followers over many different social media sites. All I had was a camera, a laptop and pure determination but this isn’t a story about how a small girl from a miniature town in the UK became one of the many famous people across the internet. This is a story of something else. Something more powerful than that. Lets start from my thirteenth birthday.
***
“Happy birthday pumpkin!” My eyes opened slowly as I saw Mum leaning over me with a tray of what looked like breakfast.
“Thanks Mum.” I said as I rubbed the sleep out of my eyes and struggled into an upright position. She put the tray on my lap and went to open the curtains. On the tray was a tall glass of orange juice, a plate full of waffles smothered in maple syrup and a small box wrapped in black and pink wrapping paper. I took a large sip of the drink and started eating my waffles.
“That present isn’t from your father and me. I found it on the doorstep this morning.” Mum said sitting on the edge of the bed. Pretty quickly k finished off the waffles and picked up the box. The gentle thump of rain on the window provided a background tune as I looked at the small gift tag.
Do you know how early I had to wake up to put this on your door! Happy birthday Megs!
~J
PS you owe me
I couldn’t help laughing as I read the tag. Mum peered over my shoulder and read it as well. “It’s just Jamie Mum. No need to panic.” I smiled at her and she rolled her eyes. Jamie and I have lived next door to each other for as long as I can remember. That’s probably why we were – and still are – such great friends. I gently peeled off the wrapping paper, careful not to make any mess. I guess you could say that I’m a bit of a neat freak. Underneath the wrapping was a small navy velvet box. It opened with a snap and inside was a small necklace with a gold M on it. On the top left tip of the M was a diamante diamond. I laughed inwardly at this. The previous week, we had gone to see a movie and I saw it in the window of a jewellery shop and I mentioned that I liked it. He had obviously gone back and bought it for me.
“Right Miss. If you don’t get up now, you’re going to be late for school! Plus we need to drop Mollie off at her school as well.” Mollie is my adopted sister. She cute I guess but also equally as annoying. Oh she also has an obsession with all things pink. I looked at the clock. 7:15am. I had fifteen minutes.
Mum left the room and silently shut the door behind her. I downed the rest of the orange juice and pulled on a pair of black jeans and a purple sweater. I clipped the necklace on and ran a brush through my blond, wavy (but mostly frizzy) hair. I pulled it up into a ponytail and pulled out small parts to frame my face. After brushing my teeth and putting moisturiser on my face, I turned off the light in my room and Carrie the tray out into the kitchen.
We lived in a small, three bedroom bungalow and my room was in the far corner of the house. It had a ensuite that I shared with Mollie on one side and the other was the porch leading into the relatively large garden. Apart from the bedrooms and bathrooms, it was very open planned. I literally stepped out of the door and I was in the kitchen. I put the tray on the counter and washed the plates before quickly packing my bag and joining Mum and Mollie in the car.
It wasn’t until lunch that I saw him. A mob of dark brown hair and leaf green eyes was almost the classic look of anyone living here but I guess you could say that his childish face was what made him stand out.
“Hey Megs! Happy birthday!” Jamie gave me a quick hug before noticing the necklace. “Ah I see you got your present! Take a guess at how early I had to get up to put that on your doorstep. Go on, guess.” It was clear he wasn’t going to drop the subject without an answer.
“I don’t know! Um… was it 6:00?” I asked him as we sat down at our table by the window and started eating lunch.
“My goodness Megan! Are you trying to kill me? If I woke up that early, I wouldn’t be here now would I?” I shook my head, laughing. Obviously realizing he wasn’t going to get an answer out of me, he answered it himself, “Quarter to seven Megs! Do you know how much beauty sleep I lost? A grand total of fifteen minutes!” Even Jamie couldn’t help but laugh at that. The bell rang and I walked slowly towards my next lesson. English.

That is a total of 903 words for you! Don’t feel pressured to read it or anything though. I just posted it in case some of you wanted to read it! My total word count at the moment is 6,247 so I have quite a way to go if I want to finish this in three months!

Okay now onto the second part of this post. I have been blogging here for just over two years now and I am so happy that you have all joined me. I love my small blogging community and I’m so happy that you’ve all stuck with me! As a celebration, I was trying to think of what I should do. I was thinking maybe a competition, but not a long one. Maybe a poetry competition? I’m not too sure. If you have any ideas about what I can do, I would love it if you would comment down bellow on this post to let me know!
Okay I think that’s all for now… oh yeah one quick extra thing. I have recently read a lot of books and I’m trying to decide which one I should review next. I would love it if you would take the time to answer this quick poll about it:


This poll will be up until Sunday 7th December when I will post a review of the chosen book. Then the process will repeat for the rest of them 😛
Thanks for reading and see you all soon!
Spike

Leave a Reply

