New Review Technique and Late Book Review


Hey guys,

Sorry about not posting on Sunday, I was out all week and have been really busy with homework over the past week but seeing as I am literally not doing anything, I thought I would do another review. I have thought about ways that I could do reviews and here’s my idea:

So you know how I’ve been doing a year long book jar sort of thing, right? So I have typed up every book I have read this year to date and three bullet points to remind me about the story. Each Sunday, I pick a random piece from the jar and each one that I’ve reviewed get’s a little tick next to it. That is what I have planned to do this week so today’s review is…

Perfect Scoundrels by Ally Carter!

Let’s get on with the review!

***

Perfect Scoundrels cover

Book title: Perfect Scoundrels
Authors name: Ally Carter
Publisher: Hyperion Books for Children
Date Published: February 5th 2013
Number of pages: 328 pages
Overall rating:

4.0 star

Blurb:

Katarina Bishop and W.W. Hale the fifth were born to lead completely different lives: Kat comes from a long, proud line of loveable criminal masterminds, while Hale is the son of one of the most seemingly perfect dynasties in the world. If their families have one thing in common, it’s that they both know how to stay under the radar while getting-or stealing-whatever they want. No matter the risk, the Bishops can always be counted on, but in Hale’s family, all bets are off when money is on the line. When Hale unexpectedly inherits his grandmother’s billion dollar corporation, he quickly learns that there’s no place for Kat and their old heists in his new role. But Kat won’t let him go that easily, especially after she gets tipped off that his grandmother’s will might have been altered in an elaborate con to steal the company’s fortune. Forced to keep a level head as she and her crew fight for one of their own, Kat comes up with an ambitious and far-reaching plan that only the Bishop family would dare attempt. To pull it off, Kat is prepared to do the impossible, but first, she has to decide if she’s willing to save her boyfriend’s company if it means losing the boy.

My Review:

Final book in the Heist Society series and I must make a little confession here. I didn’t read this series in order. I mean I read Heist Society in the school library and I never really thought much about it but after getting the final two for Christmas, I decided to read them obviously. I didn’t really pay much attention to the order so I read this one first. Just a tip, I didn’t really seem lost at all in this book. There are a few references to Uncommon Criminals (the previous book) but not too many.

I did enjoy this book. It was a great light read with to occasional twist and a lot of thick plot lines. I think this book was designed for twelve year olds so a little bit young for me but I still enjoyed it. There was a very strong depth to the characters that also helped to emphasise the story.

I didn’t like how they didn’t include much of a love interest. I mean it was there and it was still involved and all that but it left it on a sort of cliff hanger but not at the same time. Does this make any sense because I don’t really know how to put this into words? I mean the story line and main plot ended well but I found that the love interest could lead onto a new book or at least another short story to add into it. For example, they could get together and have another spy adventure together or it could flash forward a few years to where they have kids and teaching them to spy and so on. Just something to solve the mystery of this romance.

Overall, I gave this book 4 out of 5 stars. It was a fun, light read and I would recommend it to practically anyone who enjoys spy novels.

Thanks for reading and I’ll see you on Sunday!

Spike

Leave a Reply

