If I Stay Book and Movie Review


Hey Everyone,
So a couple weeks ago, I finally finished reading If I Stay and went to watch the movie with one of my friends. I thought today I would do an If I Stay review before continuing with the old plans. So let’s get on with the review!

Book Review:
If I Stay cover
Book title: If I Stay
Authors name: Gayle Forman
Publisher: Dutton Juvenile
Date Published: April 2nd 2009
Number of pages: 201 pages
Overall rating:
4.0 star

Blurb:
Choices. Seventeen-year-old Mia is faced with some tough ones: Stay true to her first love—music—even if it means losing her boyfriend and leaving her family and friends behind?
Then one February morning Mia goes for a drive with her family, and in an instant, everything changes. Suddenly, all the choices are gone, except one. And it’s the only one that matters.

My Review:
In this book, Mia Hall is just a normal 17 year old teenage girl, with all the problems that comes along with that. In a split-second, her whole world begins crumbling around her and she’s faced with a sole choice that could make or break everyone around her.
I liked a lot of things about this book. I liked how the morale and the whole idea of the story is to highlight how fragile life is and how special every moment is. I liked the connection with all the characters and how real it all felt. I liked the memories and how special it all felt. This book added a really strong feeling about how special life is and how every moment should be lived as if it were your last. I liked how Adam and Mia’s love story wasn’t happy and perfect all the time and was more like a real life relationship.
If I’m honest, I didn’t find it as heart-breaking as all the reviews made it out to be. I loved the memories and I loved how special it felt but it felt more happy than heart-breaking. I find that it really helped to focus on living each moment as if it were my last.
I gave this book four stars out of five because I did love it but I didn’t think it was as sad as most people made it out to be.

Movie Review:
5.0 star

I loved this movie and I feel a little guilty in admitting that I found the movie better than the book. I loved the music that went into the movie. I feel that it accented the correct areas in the correct ways. I think that in the movie, the scenes flowed really well. I have to admit that I was tearing a lot in this movie, especially in the scene with Mia and her Granddad. That is all I shall say without any spoilers. The movie was very true to the book and I loved how I could tell exactly where we were in the book. My favourite scene was the bonfire scene. I like how the atmosphere was portrayed and how it was a bitter sweet scene.

Thanks for reading and I hope you enjoyed it!
Spike

Leave a Reply

