Shadowland Book Review


Hey Guys,
So we are finally back to the Immortals series reviews for the final four books (Shadowland, Dark Flame, Night Star and Everlasting). As you can tell, it has been a long time since I have read these books and at the moment Shadowland is on loan to a friend so I apologise if I get some of the details wrong 🙂 Let’s get on with the review!

Shadowland

Book title:
Shadowland
Authors name: Alyson Noel
Publisher: St. Matrin’s Griffin
Date Published: November 17th 2009
Number of pages: 339 pages
Overall rating:
4.5 star

Blurb:
Ever and Damen have gone through countless lives and fought off the world’s darkest enemies so they could be together. But just when an everlasting future is finally within their reach, Damen is struck down by a curse—a dark spell separating him and Ever for eternity. Now sharing so much as a single touch could bring about Damen’s death…and send him plummeting into the Shadowland, an eternal abyss for lost souls. Desperate to break the curse and save Damen, Ever immerses her herself in magick. And in her quest, she gets help from an unexpected source…a surfer named Jude.
Although she and Jude have only just met, he feels startlingly familiar. Despite her fierce loyalty to Damen, Ever is drawn to Jude, a green-eyed golden boy with magical talents and a mysterious past. She’s always believed Damen to be her soulmate and one true love—and she still believes it to be true. But as Damen pulls away to save them from the darkness inhabiting his soul, Ever’s connection with Jude grows stronger—and tests her love for Damen like never before…

My Review:
This is the third instalment of the six book series, The Immortals. In this book, we follow Damen and Ever as Damen is overcome by a curse that threatens to separate them for good. Ever, meanwhile, is facing her own problems as she meddles with things that should not be meddled with and meets a stranger who may not be as strange as you think.
I liked this book. I feel that it is a great continuation of the story and allows readers to get a better understanding of the world of immortals and what happens to them if they do die. The lone world of Shadowland awaits those who suffer an unfortunate and unnecessary fate. Readers continue to get a stronger bond between characters as you start to feel their pain and loss but also their highs and a love that breaks all bonds of reality. I find that the characters are as good as real and I felt that I could just lose myself in the writing.
The one thing that I wasn’t so keen on was the faintness of Roman. I understand that he does have his important parts in other books but I feel like he should’ve had a stronger part. I also got a little bit confused in some parts as to what kind of magick Ever was using and what happened, but true to a great author, I understood everything by the end of the book!
Overall, I give this book 4.5 stars because I loved how in depth it went into Ever and Damen’s relationship. I would recommend this book to supernatural lovers from about 13 and up.

Thanks for reading and I’ll see you next week with another review!
Spike

Leave a Reply

