Thirteen Reasons Why Book Review


Hello everybody and welcome to another review Wednesday,
Today I am going to be reviewing Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher. Let’s get right to it.
Thirteen Reasons Why
Book title: Thirteen Reasons Why
Authors name: Jay Asher
Publisher: Razorbill
Date Published: October 18th 2007
Number of pages: 304 pages
Overall rating:
4.0 star

Blurb:
Clay Jensen returns home from school to find a mysterious box with his name on it lying on his porch. Inside he discovers thirteen cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker, his classmate and crush who committed suicide two weeks earlier.
On tape, Hannah explains that there are thirteen reasons why she decided to end her life. Clay is one of them. If he listens, he’ll find out how he made the list.

My Review:
This book is about a teenager called Clay Jenson and his friend and crush, Hannah Baker. This book goes through in detail about the thirteen reasons why Hannah decided to commit suicide. You follow the story with Clay as he goes around their town discovering things he never knew and events that he couldn’t imagine.
I did like this book. I liked the way that you really felt that you were getting to know all the different characters and their background stories and hobbies and key features in their personalities. Even though this book only takes place overnight, it gives you enough to feel like you really click with the characters and feel what they feel.
The things that I didn’t like are almost hard to explain. I wasn’t too keen on a certain scene that was in the book. I felt that it were more explicit than the rest but I cannot judge this scene particularly well as I skipped over it.
I read this book on recommendation from lots of different places such as Bestsellers lists on Amazon, reviewers on YouTube shows that I watch, etc. I think that this book lives up to those standards and I did really enjoy it. I would recommend it as a daytime read for people around 14 or older as some of the problems Hannah and Clay confront would be difficult to understand at a lower age.

Thanks for reading and I hope you enjoyed the review! See you next week for another review!
Spike

One thought on “Thirteen Reasons Why Book Review

Leave a Reply

