The Selection Series Overview

Hey Everyone,
So for this Wednesday, I am going to be reviewing the whole of the Selection series. I got this idea because I have reviewed the whole series so I thought it would be a good idea. I have lots of books that I need to review so you will be pretty full of reviews for the next number of weeks. Anyway let’s get on with this!

Book title: The Selection Series
Authors name: Kiera Cass
Publisher: HarperTeen
Date Published: April 24th 2012 – May 6th 2014
Number of pages (average): 332 pages
Overall rating:

The Selection Blurb:
For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

The Elite Blurb:
Thirty-five girls came to the palace to compete in the Selection. All but six have been sent home. And only one will get to marry Prince Maxon and be crowned princess of Illea.

America still isn’t sure where her heart lies. When she’s with Maxon, she’s swept up in their new and breathless romance, and can’t dream of being with anyone else. But whenever she sees Aspen standing guard around the palace, and is overcome with memories of the life they planned to share. With the group narrowed down to the Elite, the other girls are even more determined to win Maxon over—and time is running out for America to decide.

Just when America is sure she’s made her choice, a devastating loss makes her question everything again. And while she’s struggling to imagine her future, the violent rebels that are determined to overthrow the monarchy are growing stronger and their plans could destroy her chance at any kind of happy ending.

The One Blurb:
For the four girls who remain at the palace, the friendships they’ve formed, rivalries they’ve struggled with and dangers they’ve faced have bound them to each other for the rest of their lives.
Now, the time has come for one winner to be chosen.

America never dreamed she would find herself anywhere close to the crown – or to Prince Maxon’s heart. But as the competition approaches its end and the threats outside the palace walls grow more vicious, America realises just how much she stands to lose – and how hard she’ll have to fight for the future she wants.

My Review:
This series followers America Singer, a 5 in her world of Illea, as she joins the Selection competition to find a new Queen to rule by Prince Maxon’s side. Making friends and discovering secrets become the norm as the competition progresses. Love for two boys pulling her in all distances as the competition draws closer to the end.
I loved this series so much! I am a definite Maxon supporter and I loved how Kiera Cass spread the story over a perfect distance of time. The story making us fall in love with all of the characters and just the world in general. This is a world that one would want to explore just to know that it exists. I fell in love with America and all of the girls during the competition and I loved every part of this story. It left you on a cliffhanger and the right moments in each book. I loved… well I just loved everything!
The only thing stopping me from giving it 5 stars is the ending. I found the ending very predictable and slightly rushed but even though it was predictable, I loved the journey you were taken on to get to that point and I like how Kiera Cass created a perfect happy ending for all of the characters in this wonderful story.
Overall, I give this series 4.5 stars and I would recommend it to any fairy-tale lovers from about 12+ because some scenes are too confusing if you are too young. I loved this series and I hope you love it as much as me 🙂

Thanks for reading!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s