The One Review


Hello hello hello everybody,
How is everyone? Good? Great! Anyway, today is Wednesday and it is time for another book review. This book is the final book in the Selection series so I will try and put as little spoilers as possible in this book review. Let’s get on with it!

The One

Book title: The One
Authors name: Kiera Cass
Publisher: HarperCollins Children’s Books
Date Published: May 6th 2014
Number of pages: 323 pages
Overall rating:
3.5 star

Blurb:
For the four girls who remain at the palace, the friendships they’ve formed, rivalries they’ve struggled with and dangers they’ve faced have bound them to each other for the rest of their lives.

Now, the time has come for one winner to be chosen.

America never dreamed she would find herself anywhere close to the crown – or to Prince Maxon’s heart. But as the competition approaches its end and the threats outside the palace walls grow more vicious, America realises just how much she stands to lose – and how hard she’ll have to fight for the future she wants.

My Review:
So in the final instalment of the famous Selection series, America is one of the few left in the competition. With the final four chosen, America has to work harder than ever to get the life she has only now realised she loves and doesn’t want to let go of.
I loved the characters in this book. The range of personalities and deeper secrets becomes a lot more prominent in the final book. After spending two books at the castle, you get a small glimpse of the other side of things including rebel forces. I liked the description and in some cases, the lack of description as it added a more unique feeling to the books.
I was torn between giving this book a 3 star or a 4 star rating because I found the ending extremely predictable. Don’t get me wrong, I love how it ended and I also love the path that it took to get there but in one particular scene, Maxon makes a decision and then changes it within half a day. That kind of situation I find very unrealistic but I like the fairy-tale aspect of the whole series as well.
Overall, I gave this book a 3.5 star rating because I did enjoy it. The depth of characters and storyline went far deeper than in the other books but the predictable ending and some unrealistic situations meant that this book couldn’t get the top ratings.

Thanks for reading and talk to you all soon 🙂
~Spike

PS My current reviews are very short in my opinion. I would love it if you could take the time to comment or email spikesbooks@hotmail.com if you have any tips for reviews or if you like them just as they are. Thanks 🙂

One thought on “The One Review

Leave a Reply

