Delirium Book Review


Hey Guys,
Another review. This time, Delirium by Lauren Oliver. This was one of the books that I bought in my massive shop a while ago, when I posted my book tower. Here we go:
Delirium Cover
Book title: Delirium
Authors name: Lauren Oliver
Publisher: HarperCollins
Date Published: February 7th 2012
Number of pages:441 pages
Overall rating:
4.0 star
Blurb:
Ninety-five days, and then I’ll be safe. I wonder whether the procedure will hurt. I want to get it over with. It’s hard to be patient. It’s hard not to be afraid while I’m still uncured, though so far the deliria hasn’t touched me yet. Still, I worry. They say that in the old days, love drove people to madness. The deadliest of all deadly things: It kills you both when you have it and when you don’t.

My Review:
Lena lives in a world that we would never want to live in. A world where love isn’t cherished and mysterious. A world where love is a disease. Just under 100 days to go until she is cured, Lena fears and wonders what the cure will do to her. How will she react? Will she remember anything? What about her mother?
I loved a lot of stuff about this book. I love the characters and the complicated, realistic presence they have. I like how it’s not a general case of insta-love between characters and how it’s progressive. I like the realistic tendencies and habits. I love the family problems. I love the boldness of all the characters. I love the length of the book as it allows a lot of information to be put in and it also leads really well into the sequel.
I didn’t like how there was a lot of secrecy. I was a little bit confused but in general it was amazing and I loved everything about it!
Overall, it was amazing and I loved the perception and the time frame and the cleanliness of Lauren’s writing. A wonderful book in a wonderful series. Well done Lauren Oliver!
Thanks for reading and I’ll talk to you on Friday!
~Spike

Leave a Reply

