Earthbound Book Review


Hey Guys,
Another Review Wednesday and today I will be reviewing Earthbound by Aprilynne Pike.
Earthbound

Book title: Earthbound
Authors name: Aprilynne Pike
Publisher: Razorbill
Date Published: July 30th 2013
Number of pages:338 pages
Overall rating:

3.0 star

Blurb:

Tavia Michaels is the sole survivor of the plane crash that killed her parents. When she starts to see strange visions of a boy she’s never spoken with in real life, she begins to suspect that there’s much about her past that she isn’t being told.

Tavia immediately searches for answers, desperate to determine why she feels so drawn to a boy she hardly knows. But when Tavia discovers that the aunt and uncle who took her in after her parents’ death may have actually been responsible for the plane crash that killed them–and that she may have been the true intended victim–she flees for the safety of Camden, Maine, where the boy she sees in her visions instructs her to go.

Now, Tavia is on the run with no one to trust. No one, that is, except for her best friend and longtime crush, Benson.

Tavia feels torn between the boy who mysteriously comes to her at night and the boy who has been by her side every step of the way. But what Tavia doesn’t know is that the world is literally falling apart and that to save it she will have to unite with the boy in her visions. Only problem? To do so would mean rejecting Benson’s love. And that’s the one thing Tavia Michaels swore she’d never do.

My Review:

Tavia has been through experiences that most people will only dream of. Her only solid point in life is her friend, study partner and long term crush Benson. When secrets begin spilling and her life becomes tainted with drips of hurt, betrayal and hidden truths, she is even more lost than ever. A desperate hunt begins to find her own past and is determined to do it on her own.

I loved the characters and I loved how true to their personalities and there was never a fault. I loved the in-depth detail of each backstory  and personality and scenes. I loved the story line and all the twists in it. I love the main storyline. I think Aprilynne Pike has a wonderful main story line and ideas.

I didn’t so much like the way it was written so much. I found it very hard to get into until about half way when it started to get interesting. For the first half, it was more of an introduction into her life before everything happens. Don’t get me wrong, this is a great way to start the book and all but I think that it was extended a bit too far.

Overall, I give this book 3 stars. It was an okay book but I do want to read the sequel because I loved the ending. It has such as cliff hanger that I almost collapsed! Not literally but you know what I mean. Anyway, again sorry for another short review, it has been a while since I read this book and I have forgotten a lot of parts except the main plot and I don’t want to give away spoilers. Thanks for reading and I’ll talk to you soon
~Spike

Leave a Reply

