The Bunker Diary Review


Hey Guys,
Today is another book review day and I will be reviewing The Bunker Diary. Just as a warning, this book review is going to be containing SPOILERS because I am going to be rewriting the ending as I absolutely HATED it! Just a little heads up ūüôā
The Bunker Diary
Book title: The Bunker Diary
Authors name: Kevin Brooks
Publisher: Penguin
Date Published: March 7th 2013
Number of pages: 268
Overall rating:

3.5 star

Blurb:

I can’t believe I fell for it.

It was still dark when I woke up this morning.

As soon as my eyes opened I knew where I was.

A low-ceilinged rectangular building made entirely of whitewashed concrete.

There are six little rooms along the main corridor.

There are no windows. No doors. The lift is the only way in or out.

What’s he going to do to me?

What am I going to do?

If I’m right, the lift will come down in five minutes.

It did. Only this time it wasn’t empty . . .

My Review:

This book is written as a sort of journal style. All about a boy at age 17 getting kidnapped and put into a bunker with no idea who kidnapped him. Over time six other people join him.

Don’t get me wrong, I was all set to read this book at the beginning because I love the horror kind of books and I loved the cover and the blurb. It all got me so fascinated. While reading, I loved the variety of characters put into the book. I loved the range of behaviours and personalities and looks and responsibilities and lifestyles and colour and all that other good stuff. At first, I didn’t find it that scary. I thought it was just a kind of almost war-type fashion but as the book got further on, I found it did get a bit scary. I mean not like the gory kind because that’s fine, but in the way that it didn’t give out many details and left it all up to your imagination. If your imagination is anything as scary as mine is, this will probably scare you.

Now I haven’t seen a word that describes the thing I hate about this book as much as these: ANNOYING & FRUSTRATING. I 100%, absolutely, fully HATE the ending of the book. Beware of spoilers coming… NOW: Everyone dies! I mean like what is with that?! I have a much better way to end this book and here it is:

When I wake up, I’m lying on a green-brown coloured sofa with the TV in front of me. The news shows footage of the latest story. Some geeky looking guy with round glasses, braces and messed up, short blond hair had been arrested for kidnapping and murder. All of a sudden, all of the memories flow back into my head so quickly that it physically hurts. The months of waiting and waiting and starving and gassing and electrocuting and pain. All the people that surrounded me too. Particularly little 10 ear old Jenny. I looked back at the TV screen where the police were inside my bunker. Inside, they pulled out little Jenny’s body as well¬†as the other people with me to. There was¬†no story to this kidnapper. Just the scientifically proven fact that he was a psycho who believed he could play¬†God and when the police took him, he froze and it took a week before they found us. Unfortunately,¬†it was too late for most of us. Looking down at my wrists, a cannula¬†was in one of them where they had me on a drip.¬†I guess I had passed out from lack of food and water. Nothing that I do now will ever return them though. Nothing¬†will replace the painful memories I have of ¬†those months. Even sentencing him to death will never bring back the faith I had in humanity.

Nothing will help me.

Nothing will.

Nothing.

That was my alternate ending. Leave a message in the comments if you liked it. Overall, I give this 3.5 stars because it appeared to me that the author had an amazing story but didn’t know how to end it so killed off everyone. Defiantly a 15+ and recommended to people who like horrow stories.

Thanks for reading and I’ll talk to you soon

~Spike

PS Not that I plan on putting spoilers in all my reviews because it doesn’t allow everyone to read the review, if I do though, what do you all think of the idea of password locking the post with the word ‘spoiler’ (obviously without the apostrophises). No capitals or spaces. That way it doesn’t tempt anyone to read the spoiler if they don’t want to. I’ve added a poll to the bottom of the post. I would love it if you would take 5 seconds of your time to fill it out. Thank you

Leave a Reply

