My Sister’s Keeper Book Review


Hey Guys,

So today I will be reviewing My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult. I read this book in 2 days flat. It was amazing! One thing before we get onto the review, if you have watched the movie, I recommend you still read the book and if you haven’t read/seen it, read the book first 🙂

Book title: My Sister’s Keeper

Authors name: Jodi Picoult

Publisher: Washington Square Press

Date Published: February 1st 2005

Number of pages: 423

Overall rating:

4.5 star

Blurb:

Anna is not sick, but she might as well be. By age thirteen, she has undergone countless surgeries, transfusions, and shots so that her older sister, Kate, can somehow fight the leukaemia that has plagued her since childhood. The product of preimplantation genetic diagnosis, Anna was conceived as a bone marrow match for Kate — a life and a role that she has never challenged…until now. Like most teenagers, Anna is beginning to question who she truly is. But unlike most teenagers, she has always been defined in terms of her sister — and so Anna makes a decision that for most would be unthinkable, a decision that will tear her family apart and have perhaps fatal consequences for the sister she loves.

My Review:

My Sister’s Keeper is about two very important girls, Anna and Kate Fitzgerald. Kate has a rare form of leukaemia which makes her terminally ill. Though Kate plays a big part in this story, the main character is Anna. Anna was concieved to help her sister. It started from straight after she was born. All thirteen years of her life involved going into the hospital with her sister to donate something, from organs to blood. When Anna’s Mum asks her for a kidney transplant when Kate’s start failing, enough is enough. She decides to sue her parents for rights to her own body.
This is where the story really begins. It follows the Fitzgerald family through a week and a half of family drama. I loved how you really felt like you know the characters in the book. I felt like I was watching it play through like a movie in my mind. It was also showed from different personalities but Josiah (the author) did an amazing job at writing each different part in a different style so that you could tell them apart. I loved basically every single aspect of this book from its concept to the delivery, this story had all the real life aspects in there.
If there was one thing I didn’t like was that the story was a bit confusing. It wasn’t until about 100-200 pages in that things started becoming clearer. Yet in a way this is what I liked because it kept you reading just to clear up everything even if you didn’t particularly enjoy the book.
I give this book 4.5 stars and I would recommend it to ages 13+. Also to anyone who enjoys books with a real life backing as well as a mystery kind of feel (anyone who has read it will know what I mean)
Thanks for reading and I hope you like the book 🙂
~Spike

Leave a Reply

