Thirteen Book Review


Hey Guys,

So today is Wednesday and it’s book review day! Here’s the most recent book I’ve read:

Book title: Thirteen
Authors name: 
Tom Hoyle 
Publisher:
Macmillan Children’s Books
Date Published:
February 13th 2014
Number of pages:
336
Overall rating:

3.5 star

Blurb: 

Born at midnight in London, on the stroke of the new millennium, Adam is the target of a cult that believes boys born on this date must die before the end of their thirteenth year. Twelve boys have been killed so far. Coron, the crazy cult leader, will stop at nothing to bring in his new kingdom. And now he is planning a bombing spectacular across London to celebrate the sacrifice of his final victim: Adam.

My review:
I bought this book with my friend when we split the prices of two books so thanks to her for choosing this one. This book is about a teenage boy called Adam. He was born at the stroke of a new millennium. The People are after him. They’re a cult that believes that all of the boys born at that time must die before their fourteenth birthday.
I did like this book. I liked the storyline and the fact that you kept swapping the points of view so the reader always knew what was going on. I liked the different scenes and how they were written, I thought that was pretty cool. All round, it was an okay book.
Now even though I liked parts of this book, I found that it was very predictable. Don’t get me wrong, some of the scenes in that book were all too shocking but most of it was predictable. When the book also swapped from POV to POV, I found it confusing at first to know who was speaking. I think that a change of font or something like that would’ve been very helpful.
Overall, I rated this 3 stars. It was a good book and a nice light read but also relatively predictable. I recommend this book to 13+ as some of the scenes are for teen readers.

As you know, I hardly ever do negative reviews but it is just my opinion. I’d love to know what you thought of this book so let me know in the comments 🙂
~Spike

Leave a Reply

