All The Truth That’s In Me ~ Book Review


Hey Guys,

So I know I haven’t done a book review in a while (sorry) but  have just finished reading the most AMAZING book! I was going to review it anyway but I wanted to get this review up and going before I forget anything. Here it is:

ATTTIN Final Covers

Book title: All The Truth That’s In Me

Authors name: Julie Berry

Publisher: Templar Publishing

Date Published: April 1st 2014

Number of pages: 272

Overall rating:

5.0 star

Blurb:

Four years ago, Judith and her best friend disappeared from their small town of Roswell Station. Two years ago, only Judith returned, permanently mutilated, reviled and ignored by those who were once her friends and family.   Unable to speak, Judith lives like a ghost in her own home, silently pouring out her thoughts to the boy who’s owned her heart as long as she can remember–even if he doesn’t know it–her childhood friend, Lucas.   But when Roswell Station is attacked, long-buried secrets come to light, and Judith is forced to choose: continue to live in silence, or recover her voice, even if it means changing her world, and the lives around her, forever.

My Review:

So if you follow my reviews, I hardly ever do full 5 star reviews because, well, they all have something they need to work on. Now when I joined the group about the Carnegie Awards, this was one of the books on the list that I was dying to read as soon as my teacher told me what it was about. It is about a girl called Judith who gets kidnapped four years before the start of the story with her best friend. The only difference there is that Judith returned. Lottie didn’t. Upon return, Judith is greeted by ignorance and silence. This book follows her journey to make right what was wrong and  can love prevail when nothing else is left?

I loved every single flipping part of this book! I loved how in this book, it isn’t written chapter by chapter. It is written in books and in parts with Roman numerals. This gives is a sort of diary affect and more of a way to make you want to keep reading. There are four books in the copy. Each about 80 pages long. I loved Judith and how almost relatable she is. In the not so literal sense of the word, I’m sure we have all felt muted and not able to say what is right and this book highlights this point. I love Lucas (often referred to as ‘you’) and how he isn’t a typical boy that you see on the street or in other books that you read. He has a very strong presence in the book and his character is what makes it one of the most amazing books I have ever read.

The only thing that I dislike was some of the scenes that were slightly gory. It defiantly added to the atmosphere and the historical aspect to this novel but I suggest not to read this book (or at least that part ~ when you get to it, you’ll know what I mean) at night as some parts can kind of creep up on you and make you really think.

Overall, I absolutely adored this book with my 5-star rating and is sure to be up there with some of the best I’ve read! I recommend this book to anyone who has a fancy for murder-mystery/romance/thriller books and defiantly over the age of 14+.

Thanks for reading my review and let me know what you thought if you read it as well!

~Spike

One thought on “All The Truth That’s In Me ~ Book Review

Leave a Reply

