Breathe Book Review


Hi Guys,
So I am determined to catch up on book reviews but since it would take forever to reread and review ALL the books on my shelf, I am going to start my resolution now by reviewing the books that I have read this year, as I read them. I know I have said this before but I am determined to stick to it. Anyway, on with the review 🙂

Breathe Cover

Book Title: Breathe

Author: Sarah Crossan

Publisher: Greenwillow

Date Published: October 2nd 2012

Overall Rating:
4.0 star

Blurb:
The world has no air. If you want to survive, you pay to breathe. But what if you can’t? And what if you think everything could be different?
Ever since the Switch, when the oxygen levels plummeted and most of humanity died, the survivors have been protected in glass domes full of manufactured air. Protected . . . or trapped? Or controlled? Alina’s a revolutionary who believes we can save the environment. Quinn’s a Premium who’s never had to worry about having enough air. His best friend, Bea, is an Auxiliary who’s never worried about anything but having enough air. When the three cross paths, they will change everything. Sarah Crossan’s thrilling and provocative novel is about passion, about yearning for something better, and about breaking free for the very first time.
(Blurb thanks to Goodreads)

My Review:
This book is written in three different peoples point of view. Alina, Bea and Quinn. Together, they live in a world controlled by the people who should be helping. Oxygen levels outside of the pod are so low, it’s almost impossible to breath. Almost. This thrilling mix of teen fiction, dystopean and sci-fi with a little bit of romance thrown in.

One of my favourite parts of this story is the whole set up. I love how this story connects with the reader as it is a story based on what could possibly happen in the future. I love how the three different characters have such diverse personalities and yet they get on like best friends. I like how the characters are always so consistent and that they act like how we would. I love how that in this story, you aren’t pulling at the pages, yelling and telling the character to do something else. They seem to always do what you would have done, but the way it is written also creates some suspense as well.

One of the things that I’m not so keen on is the pace that it moves at. I found that in some cases, it was very slow and I found it easy to stop and take a break. I can understand how this would be a good thing as it means that I can space the book out and take my time reading it. Some people could say that it moves at a reasonable pace and sometimes, I really found myself not able to put it down. I think that it is really down to a persons taste.

I would recommend this book to any sci-fi lovers as well as dystopean teen readers. Any reader who loves Veronica Roth and that style of writing will love this book just as much as I did (and maybe more)!

Thanks for reading!
Spike

Leave a Reply

