Naturals Book Review


Hey Guys,
Sorry I haven’t posted in a while. Anyway, I read this book called Naturals by Jennifer Lynn Barnes. It was honestly one of the best books I have read next to The Hunger Games and Harry Potter. Anyway, I should probably get on with the review 🙂
Naturals
Book Title:The Naturals
Author:Jennifer Lynn Barnes
Publisher:Disney-Hyperion
Date Published:November 5th 2013
Series?Yes. Book #2 comes out in November 2014
Overall Rating:
5.0 star
Blurb:
Seventeen-year-old Cassie is a natural at reading people. Piecing together the tiniest details, she can tell you who you are and what you want. But it’s not a skill that she’s ever taken seriously. That is, until the FBI come knocking: they’ve begun a classified program that uses exceptional teenagers to crack infamous cold cases, and they need Cassie.

What Cassie doesn’t realize is that there’s more at risk than a few unsolved homicides— especially when she’s sent to live with a group of teens whose gifts are as unusual as her own.

Sarcastic, privileged Michael has a knack for reading emotions, which he uses to get inside Cassie’s head—and under her skin. Brooding Dean shares Cassie’s gift for profiling, but keeps her at arm’s length.

Soon, it becomes clear that no one in the Naturals program is what they seem. And when a new killer strikes, danger looms closer than Cassie could ever have imagined. Caught in a lethal game of cat and mouse with a killer, the Naturals are going to have to use all of their gifts just to survive.

My Review:
This book is another take on the classic typical teenage cover with a totally different reality. Cassie is a Profiler (this will all make sense if you read the book) and she lived a normal life. To her, it is all a hobby. Getting recruited by the FBI was the last thing she expected to happen and from there, it just got a lot more difficult.
My favourite thing about this book was mainly the ideas. I loved the idea of the story and all the people in it. My favourite character was Lea because her personality was so amusing. She plays the part of a lie detector in a way. I think that this gives her more of a mysterious side. She also appears very protective over her friends in certain points. My favourite part of the book has to be the Truth of Dare game. I will release one quote from this scene later on but I do not want to ruin the story for any reader. I read this book in a total of about 4-5 hours. I just couldn’t put it down.
The only thing that I have to dislike about the book was some of the murder scenes. For me, they were a bit too over the top but that doesn’t lower my review as it added atmosphere to the whole story.
I would recommend this book to any reader of the age of thirteen. I have recently discovered a passion for these sorts of books so any reader who loves secret spy books and powers will love Jennifer Lynn Barnes.

Thanks for reading and I hope you have a great day!
Spike

Leave a Reply

