Top Ten Books I Read in 2013


Top Ten Tuesday

Hi again,

I know that I stopped doing the Top Ten Tuesday but I saw this one and I thought that it would be fun to do. Any books that I put on the list that I have reviewed will have a link to the review ūüôā

TOP TEN BOOKS READ IN 2013

Image

10. Dork Diaries Series – Rachel Renee Russell

As it says in the title, this is a series. I was introduced to it in the summer. Don’t be fooled because it is really a 9+. These books can be quite funny at certain points. I didn’t read them in order but I didn’t find that much of a struggle as there are¬†a few references to previous books inside. If you, like me, started on the third book (what… it was the only one left ūüôā ), it won’t matter that much.

Image

9. Changeling – Phillippa Gregory

I got this book at the beginning of last year for my birthday. Even though I got it last year, I kept getting distracted by other books that were coming out. With this, I wasn’t actually able to start and finish it until the middle of this year. I enjoyed it as it is a new genre of historical fiction. I found that, once I got into it, I really enjoyed it. This book is set in the 18th century and it is quite interesting to find out what was normal then and what is normal now and compare the two.

Image

8. Perfect Scoundrels – Ally Carter

This book is the final book in the Heist Society novels. I have just bought Uncommon Criminals, which is the second one. Just like the Dork Diaries, it doesn’t matter as much is you don’t read them in order. In fact, as there are little hints in the books about what it is about, it made me want to read the previous one even more! A great book. Well done Ally!

Image

7. Infinite Sky – C. J. Flood

I was browsing bookshops, like you do, when I saw this book on the shelves. The title and cover (above) attracted me to it. I read the blurb of the book and thought I should try it out. This book is about a girl called Iris. Her mum left her Dad and her brother the fed for themselves. When a family of travellers illegally park themselves in their garden, Iris is lead on an adventure that she can’t wait for! A new friendship and realisation that you can feel at home anywhere, when you’re with the right person. This book is a great feel-good story. I recommend it.

Image

6. Matched Series – Ally Condie

Another Ally in my top 10. This series of book is a trilogy. It features a girl called Cassia. This series features a dystopian city. In this city, the society chooses everything. They choose who you love, how many kids you have, where you work, when you die. For Cassia however, her match is two people. Two¬†very different people. She falls for the wrong boy. This is where it all begins. This story follows Cassia¬†in her¬†determination to choose something in her life. I loved this series as I am currently in love with dystopian fiction books. I found this book a pleasure to read and I just couldn’t put it down.

Image

5. The Academy Books 1, 2 and 3 РC. L. Stone

(Just quickly, I apologise for the slightly blurred photo) I found this book on the Kindle store and read the blurb. I thought that it sounded very interesting so I got it to read. I fell in love with the series almost immediately. As soon as I had finished with the first one, I bought the second and third. This series is on going so not all of the books are out yet. I have read the first 3 and there is a fourth one out¬†that I will hopefully be reading in the new year. Here is a link to the review that I did about the first one: ¬†<a href=”https://spikesbooks.wordpress.com/2013/12/04/the-academy-introductions-book-review/”>The Academy-Introductions</a> I will leave you to read the review to find out more about this book.

Image

4. One Moment – Kristina McBride

Anyone who is a regular reader of this blog will know how much I went on and on about this book. I promise that I won’t do that again.¬†Another shop browser, I loved the idea for the cover. I know how people say not to judge a book by its cover, but the cover does help attract readers to it. As I promised, I will not go on and on about this book so I will leave¬†this one with the link to the review I did:<a href=”https://spikesbooks.wordpress.com/2013/07/07/book-review-one-moment/”>One Moment</a>

Image

3. The Selection – Kiera Cass

This book was one that my friend found. We were doing different quizzes and this book kept coming up. I looked it up on Goodreads and found that it sounded very interesting. Again, it is set in a sort of dystopian future. The only difference is that while it is dystopian, it isn’t all that different to our world now. Here is the link to the review that I did on it to find out more: <a title=”The Selection Book Review” href=”https://spikesbooks.wordpress.com/2013/12/02/the-selection-book-review/“>

Image

2. United We Spy (Gallagher Girls Series) – Ally Carter

This entry is confusing as I read the first five books last year. I still counted it however as I read the final one this year. Cammie faces a final adventure. She is determined to bring down the terrorist organisation (Circle of Cavan) that has been hunting her and her friends(cannot tell you why or anything else as it can ruin the story if you would like to read them). This book holds many surprises as Cammie, Zach and her friends enter a battle that can change them and their whole world. This final book kept me reading all the way through. That’s one of my flaws with books, when I get into it, I can’t stop ūüôā (Comment if that happens to you). Here is a link to the review that I did of book #6 United¬†We Spy:<a href=”http://wp.me/p2VRfO-9o”>United We Spy (Gallagher Girls Book #6)</a>. I loved this series and all the twists and turns inside it. Well done again to Ally. Look forward to more great books from her.

And now, what you have been waiting for…

Image

1. Divergent series – Veronica Roth

Yes, my favourite book that I read this year (well, series of books) is the Divergent trilogy. I remember that at the beginning of Autumn, my friend was going on and on about how I should read the Divergent series. The final book came out towards the end of the year and a movie based on the first book is out in April 2014. She lent me the first book and anyone who was around me at that time will tell you that I couldn’t get my head out of the book! The same friend lent me the second book and then, when she got the third and final one, lent that to me as well. That series took me about two weeks to complete and they are not small books! I recommend these books to anyone who loves dystopian fiction, action/adventure and a little bit of mystery… I did a review on Divergent and Insurgent. Here are the links:

Divergent: <a href=”http://wp.me/p2VRfO-d3″>Divergent</a>

Insurgent: <a href=”http://wp.me/p2VRfO-d6“>Insurgent</a>

What are your favourite books that you read this year? Comment down bellow your favourites down bellow.

Thanks for reading and I hope you have a great New Year!

Spike

Leave a Reply

