The Academy-Introductions Book Review


Hey Guys,

So this is my book review for today. I’ve been missing out on a lot of them. There are a couple more that I want to do soon to get them out of the way. Look out for a review of Insurgent and Allegiant next. Anyway, here is the review.

Book title: The Academy

Authors name: C. L. Stone

Publisher: Arcato Publishing

Date Published: December 23rd 2012

Number of pages: 280 pages

Overall rating:
4.5 star
Blurb:

With an agoraphobic mother and a barely-there father, Sang abhors the isolation keeping her in the shadows. The only thing Sang craves is a fresh start and to be accepted as ordinary by her peers, because for her being different meant being cast out alone.

When her family moves to a new school district, Sang infiltrates a group of boys nearly perfect in every way. Grateful for an influence outside of her parents’ negativity, she quickly bonds with the boys, hoping to blend in and learn from them what it means to have a natural relationship with friends.

Only the boys have secrets of their own and they’ll do anything to keep her safe from the knowledge of the mysterious Academy that they’ve sworn allegiance to. Bit by bit, Sang discovers that her friends are far from the normalcy she expected. Will her loyalty change when she’s forced to remain in the dark, or will she accept that she’s traded one house of secrets for another?

Meet Kota, Victor, Silas, Nathan, Gabriel, Luke and North in a story about differences and loyalty, truth and mystery, friendships and heart-throbbing intimacy.

The Academy, ever vigilant.

My Review:

This book is about a girls called Sang. She has a very… let’s call it unique family. We join her in a ‘great escape’, where she meets the first boy of seven.  I enjoyed this book as you get enough information to make you feel like you know something, but little enough to make you want to keep reading it. I read the whole book on my Kindle and can’t wait to get the next one.

I liked Sang as the main character. I liked her as a character. She was very unique. I loved the difficult situation in the story as it made you feel closer to the story. I liked how the whole story worked and the whole story like on it all. The whole story kept you guessing. You wanted to know what the Academy was about. Or what the ‘looks’ we (you’ll find out what I mean if you read the book). There are hints of names thrown in, when you think you know everything. The effect meant you kept wanting to know what will happen. I laughed out loud and squeezed the book so hard during all the different scenes. Props to the author. The scenes were in perfect detail and made you feel like you were there.

I didn’t like how some of the scenes were very descriptive and the story was at a sort of slow pace. I think that it was at a slow pace so you were able to meet all of the characters. Talk about a cliff-hanger though. The copy of the first book that I got had a preview of the second one in it. I can’t wait to get the next one. I kept wishing that the story had a faster pace because of how you wanted to know more than you were give.

Overall, I gave this book a 4.5 out of 5 as I can’t wait for the next one. There were a couple mistakes, as I have previously mentioned, and that is why I didn’t give it the 5. I loved it so much though, I can’t wait for the next. Now I’m just going on and on, so I’m going to end the review.

Thanks for reading and I hope you enjoy.

Spike

One thought on “The Academy-Introductions Book Review

Leave a Reply

