The Selection Book Review


Hey Guys,

Here is my book review today. I recently read this book as my friend and I did a quiz. She got the main character of The Selection as who she was most like out of certain female book characters. I did some research online and came across the series of books. I bought the first one on my Kindle and really enjoyed it, so I thought I would do a review on it. Here’s the review:

The Selection Cover
Book title: The Selection

Authors name: Kiera Cass

Publisher: HarperTeen

Date Published: 24th April 2012

Number of pages: 327 pages

Overall rating:
4.5 star

Blurb:

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.
But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.
Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

My Review:

I loved this book. I thought that the idea was very original. Recently, I have loved dystopian novels and that sort of style. This novel was interesting as it was set in the future. In this book, America Singer is one of the low class citizens. Her whole life is turned upside down, right side up  and sideways as she sets out to become one of the Selected. She finds friendship, love and surprises around every corner.

One of the things that I loved about this book was the characters. Each one had their own personality and you could just imagine seeing them in real life. I loved the descriptions. They really brought the whole scene alive. I loved the little characters in the story. I loved them as, even though they weren’t one of the main characters, they added a sort of elevation to the story, if you know what I mean. It helps the whole story become alive. Different things that the character’s said as well made me laugh out loud. Anyone within a mile radius could hear me laughing at some parts or see me staring intently at the screen. I loved how you didn’t really know what was going to happen. Occasionally, there would be a surprise that would shock you.

I loved this book so there isn’t much I can talk about to what I didn’t like as much. One thing I can say is that the ending frustrated me. I’m not going to say any more but it is a great way to lead into the next series… though I need to buy the next book.

I would recommend this book to anyone who loves dystopian novels. I think that these types of books are brilliant for teen reads. Overall, I thought that this book was a great book, though, at some points, I thought that it was moving too fast. I thought that everything was happening at once. Other than that, I thought it was great. My rating for it is 4.5 out of 5 stars.

Hope you liked the review and thanks for reading!
Spike

PS: Bellow this post is a contact form. This form is to ask if you would like any specific book reviewed. Thanks again!

One thought on “The Selection Book Review

Leave a Reply

