Insurgent Book Review


Hi Guys,Insurgent Cover

So, as you know, I have recently done a review on the 1st book from the Divergent series. As soon as I had finished Divergent, I started to read Insurgent. I have now finished it so I thought I should do a review (as I do reviews on almost all the books I read). Here is it:

Book title: Insurgent
Authors name: Veronica Roth
Publisher: Harper Collins
Date Published: May 1st 2012
Number of pages: 525
Overall rating:
4.5 star

Blurb:

One choice can transform you, or destroy you.

Every choice has consequences, and as unrest surges in the factions all around her, Tris Prior must continue trying to save those she loves, and herself, while grappling with haunting questions of grief and forgiveness, identity and loyalty, politics and love.

My Review:

This book is the sequel in the Divergent series and a great read.

I loved how the story flowed through each section of the novel. From when the refugees were in Amity all the way to the main fight scenes (that’s all I can say without spoilers). The characters really become themselves in this sequel. We really start to understand the connection between Tobias and his Dad. Throughout the novel, Tris had fluctuated along my Love-Hate scale. I find that she is a tricky person to judge.

That brings me onto what I didn’t like about the book. I feel like the character development for Tris almost went through the roof. After what happened in Divergent, she became almost like she had a stone heart. I found it rather difficult to understand what her mind was thinking and why she made decisions that had me screaming at the book. I feel like if Tobias wasn’t there, the story would’ve been a whole lot more unstructured and panicked.

Overall, I say this was a great and gripping novel. The fast-paced nature meant that there was barely a time to put it down at all! I would recommend this book to anyone who loved Divergent and I would say that the Divergent series is best for people who loved fast-paced action novels with a little bit of romance in there as well.

Thanks for reading and look out for a competition soon!

Spike

Leave a Reply

